Our barn in a snow.
Our barn in a snow.
Good-bye George, thank you for all the pretty kids.
Good-bye George, thank you for all the pretty kids.

Even though Tony & I are not really party goers on New Year’s Eve, our New Year’s Day usually finds us staying in bed till we just can’t stand our stomachs growling anymore.  I love the start of a new year.  The slate is fresh and the opportunities abound.  Some years I am quite happy to say good-bye to the leaving year, but 2012 was overall a great year.  No one ever has everything go exactly the way one wants it to, but all things considered we had a great year.  I hope that you can say the same, if not- I pray 2013 brings you fresh wind and blessings.

Of course, the animals do not recognize holidays of any such and still expected their feed.  Neither do predators.  We found evidence that one of our free ranging birds will not see the new year.  Also, we found our buck, George,  was down.  We don’t have any idea of what happened, he and the calf were butting heads and having a good time yesterday.  I always try to figure out exactly what happened, but without a necropsy (animal autopsy) that is impossible.  I still hate it, but after several years of keeping animals you get to where you move on easier.  So, this really wasn’t the way we hoped to start the new year, but it happens sometimes.

After coming in from the barn, I got started on the house.  the week between Christmas and New Year’s is the time that I start my “spring” cleaning.  Long before we started the nursery, I switched the spring cleaning to the dead of winter cleaning.  Who wants to be inside cleaning in the spring when the weather is so pretty.  Of course now, spring puts me slap in the middle of our busiest time of the year so we are lucky if the basic laundry gets done then much less top to bottom cleaning. By the time I am done every closet and cabinet will be cleaned out with any and all junk and unused items being donated.  I started in the  kitchen today.  I am truly amazed at what had made it into the backs of the cabinets over the course of the year.

Next week we will have our yearly family fast.  The best way to start a new year is by putting your physical and your spiritual house in order.  I look forward to what God has planned for us in the new year.  May 2013 bring you new hope and dreams.

