Beautiful Bunch!
Beautiful Bunch!

All that glitters may not be gold, but it sure is pretty!  Which is good, because the floors in my house glitter, the table glitters, my laundry glitters, and the interior of the truck glitters. It seems that when you work with glitter it just gets everywhere, kind of like sand at the beach.  As we prepared for the Canton Christmas Parade, I made signs for Cheyenne and of course a beauty queen needs sparkle on her signs- which is the source of all the glitter!

Miss Van Zandt County signs were not the only thing we made for the float.  Tony built me a small stable with a cross attached to it.  I have been wanting one of these for several years and it turned out just a great as I imagined.  On the cross I wrote “My Redeemer Lives” after all, what would Christmas be without the celebration of the birth of our Savior?  All along the rails of the trailer we attached bows of pine, cedar, and nandina.  A new use for duck tape was found along the way.  In areas where I could not wrap wire, the duck tape worked just great for fastening the greenery to the trailer.  It really turned out really pretty.  A bale of hay was placed in the stable and Sierra & Jonathan rode along.  Katie and Rylie, my lovely nieces, accompanied Cheyenne and sat with her.  They were dressed in the cutest red outfits with tutus.  My sister, Windy, always has them decked out right.

Jesus is the reason for the Season!
Jesus is the reason for the Season!

This was our first Christmas parade and although at the beginning I was really nervous about such an undertaking, it was not hard a bit.  The only thing “new” was the stable and that was built from salvaged lumber.  Everything else came from the land or was borrowed from Windy.  She had these really large ornaments that looked fabulous wired in with the greenery.  No one fell off or even looked like they might.  All of the greenery stayed in place along the parade route that started at the Jr. High and looped around the square.  I did also purchase an adapter that plugged into the cigarette lighter.  This powered the lights via an extension cord that was run out of the back window.  This little contraption is wonderful and will be used a lot to charge phones and laptops as we travel.

Getting the float ready
Getting the float ready

So, at 6:30 all the floats and other entries powered up and the procession began.  What fun!!  There was a record 50 entries in the parades this year and more people than I have ever saw came out to watch.  It was just so much fun to wave to all and have lots of people shouting out “Merry Christmas”.  What a great memory.  One little boy imp-articular made me laugh.  As we rolled by, he figured out what the cross said and began to shout, “My Redeemer Lives!”  it was awesome and I certainly believe it made God smile.  Then he looks at his mom and asks, “What is that?”  I like to believe that a seed of faith got planted.

Having fun!
Having fun!

After all the festivities were wrapped up, all anyone local who came to the parade came by the house for soup and cornbread.  That was really nice, too.  Not surprisingly, the boys ended up outside burning things in the chimenea.  Next thing I knew, all the adults had made it out there, too.  Not that it was cold and a fire was needed.  I was grateful the cold weather held off another day, dressing warmly was one thing I did not have to worry about.  Another Christmas season is passing by and we are making some really great memories.

May your Christmas Season be filled with joy and love.  And remember- Our Redeemer Lives!

Beautiful
Beautiful
Sierra & Jonathan
Sierra & Jonathan

var _gaq = _gaq || [];
_gaq.push([‘_setAccount’, ‘UA-36823599-1’]);
_gaq.push([‘_setDomainName’, ‘themakingofahome.wordpress.com’]);
_gaq.push([‘_trackPageview’]);

(function() {
var ga = document.createElement(‘script’); ga.type = ‘text/javascript’; ga.async = true;
ga.src = (‘https:’ == document.location.protocol ? ‘https://ssl’ : ‘http://www’) + ‘.google-analytics.com/ga.js’;
var s = document.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s);
})();

