Rylie trying her hand at milking

One of the best things about having a farm and all the animals that go along with it, is getting to share them with my nieces.  Katie & Rylie are frequent guests and are always so excited to tag along with their cousins to do morning chores.

Usually, Rylie goes with Sierra and Katie goes with Jonathan.  This is a good match up because of the different personalities.  Rylie is four and fearless.  You never really know what is coursing through her brain waves – which are very numerous.  Sierra is 12  and has a good grasp of good ideas versus bad ideas.  I like Rylie being with Sierra because I am confident that Sierra can anticipate Rylie’s thoughts enough to head her off at the pass if she is about to do something dangerous.  Jonathan, on the other hand, is a 10 year old boy who comes up with things his sisters NEVER thought of doing.  Katie, age 6, is thoughtful and cautious- so even if Jonathan had a hair-brained idea, she would probably stand back and watch to see what happened.  Jonathan would protect his younger cousins with his life if he thought they were in danger.  The problem is that what would spell danger to you and me, does not register as danger with him.  Thankfully, we have never had anything more serious than an ant bite.

Rylie had helped my 16yr old daughter, Savannah, milk before and informed her she was touching the goat’s hienny. No matter what Savannah said, Rylie was convinced that she knew better.  Today, I got to milk with Rylie.  I guess a little time was all she needed.  Rylie helped me milk and I was quite thankful that Salsa, my lamancha dairy goat, was so understanding.  I told Rylie about Salsa’s udder- which Rylie has refered to all day as her “gutter”- and showed her how to squeeze her fingers to make the milk come out.  Her little chubby fingers were so cute!  However, her little hands were just a little to small to get it to work, but that didn’t stop her from trying.  Salsa never even fussed, she just kept eating her oats.  I loved every minute of it!

 

Rylie brushing Saphire

Goin for a swing

