I have a new herb that I am really excited about. Lovage.

When I began gardening in order to provide as much of our own food as possible, celery was a vegetable that I loved to cook with for seasoning and flavor. The problem was that celery does not like Texas summers. So, what was I to do? Now, thanks to Lovage I can have the flavor I love. To use Lovage, all you have to do is snip of a sprig or two, chop it up and add it to whatever dish you are cooking.

An added benefit to using Lovage versus celery, is that Lovage has medicinal properties as well. It stimulates the immune system and is good for treating winter illnesses and respiratory tract concerns.

Lovage is easy to grow. If you purchase a transplant, simply plant it in sun, shade, or partial shade- just be certain that the soil is well drained. One plant is all you need as Lovage grows to 3 ft in one season. The plant is herbaceous (dies back in winter) but being a perennial it comes back every year. What more could you ask for?

