Today we had to doctor a sick rabbit. It is amazing how fast one can go down. Seirra reported a rabbit with a runny nose this morning. Yesterday, none were sick or acting like they were feeling puny. After I consulted my vet books, I was no more enlightened than I was before. Either it can be the snuffles- no cure for good, infected animals should be put down- a much more serious condition than the name would convey. Pneumonia could be another option or just a simple cold. At any rate, all the illnesses can be brought on by stress on the animal caused by sudden temperature changes. Well, one week we didn’t get above 30′ and one week later the temps were in the 70’s. That could have done it. I gave the doe a concoction of B-12, dandelion tincture, and penicillan. The vet books were no help, so I came up with my own prescription. We shall see how it works. On a happier note, at least for us, we got our beef back from the processor. My freezer is FULL of meat that we raised ourselves. We are very gateful to Porterhouse for his contribution to our family’s well being. Our next steer is happily eating rye grass and drinking his daily bottle. His name is Hershey. He is about 3 months old and will be with us till he is around 12 months old. Until this morning, he was a bull calf. Now, he is a steer. One of the jobs that I have learned to do myself. The first time that I banded a bull calf I didn’t think. I just squatted down and went to put the band on. Savannah was holding him and saved my face. As you might imagine, the calf kicked when I slipped the band on his privates. If Savannah had not been so quick in her reflexes he would have nailed me square in the face. However, I am a quick learner. Now I back the calf up to the stall wall and reach in to do the dirty work. This is one job that Jonathan and Tony have never helped me with…..

